Go to Top

Hall of Fame

2012 Lifetime Achievement Award Ceremony at ISMB13


Prof. Yohji Okada


As one of the first scientific players in the field of magnetic bearings, professor Yohji Okada picked up research on magnetic bearings in Japan where he was professor of Mechanical Engineering at Ibaraki University. His research interests include magnetic bearings and applications, self-bearing motors, artificial heart pumps, active/regenerative vibration control, servo control systems and electromagnetic engine valve drives. Together with his research group, he was one of the pioneers in introducing magnetic bearings and bearingless motors to different motor topologies. Since that time, he continuously supported the development of the international research network and also hosted ISMB8 in Japan.

Prof. Gerhard Schweitzer


Prof. Gerhard Schweitzer from Switzerland was one of the founders of the ISMB series in 1988 and hosted the 1st, 4th and 7th symposium in Zurich, Switzerland, where he was professor at the Institute for Robotics and Intelligent Systems at the Swiss Federal Institute for Technology. He put his main scientific focus on dynamics of controlled mechanical systems, especially interactive robots, magnetic bearings and mechatronics. His support for magnetic bearings research on an international level was also expressed in his recent engagement in helping to build up a magnetic bearings community in South America and, especially, in Brazil.

Michael K. Swann


Over the past 25 years, Michael K. Swann has been one of the driving forces in bringing magnetic bearings to the market. With his activities he helped to develop the technology and, more importantly, to prove its industrial relevance. The organizing committee honored his ongoing  engagement in this field as a true lifetime achievement. Michael K. Swann is currently General Manager at Waukesha Magnetic Bearings and the author of several technical articles and patents related to magnetic bearings.